My-House in Melbourne

My-House is Austin Maynard’s own home. It is also the office of Austin Maynard Architects. Maynard and his family live upstairs, whilst AMA occupies the shopfront downstairs. The kitchen, dining and garden are shared between my family and the AMA team between 9am and 5pm.

c.jpg

My-House is an experiment that Austin Maynard lives in. It is a home that he dares not impose on my clients. It breaks many important rules, often not in a good way. My-House lets in sunlight where a house should not. Whilst it is a very sustainable home, My-House is not as thermally efficient as the homes I design for others. Issues of privacy and personal comfort are often challenged in My-House. It is for these reasons that Maynard and his family love it.

x.jpg

Leave a Reply

